Harvest Time

We’re into our last « big » harvest of the season these days, gathering up winter squash. While harvesting continues into October, nothing of this magnitude will follow. The fact is, you can’t escape winter squash on a farm; they take all the field space allocated to them, and then some. Whether of the creeping or bushing…

It Feels Like Fall

The brisk morning air, despite the sunny warmth of late August days that inevitably dispels it, reminds us that Fall is just around the corner. Everything has lost its luster, except perhaps the goldenrod, the final stop for our honeybees as they build their winter reserves. Harvests mark the season and the passage of time.…

Farm Classifieds

Time for a purely informational, some might say, crassly commercial, post – but one essential to surviving the rigours of a still-distant but inescapable winter. We have planted garlic; harvested, cleaned and weighed it – the time has now come to sell it. So, if you’re a garlic aficionado with a love for fresh, juicy…

Tipping Point

Already early August, the season’s tipping point at the farm. We have started to free up portions of field, those that have already yielded their spring and early summer bounty – the first leafy greens, the brassicas and other …. A few of them, stripped of their vegetables for a few weeks only, have already…

Berry Picking

They came, they harvested, they left. The ‘curranteers’, we call them. For a second year running, numbering near twenty this time, they parked their compact urban cars in the farm entrance and stood ready to pick, all smiles and clutching their berry containers. With Hélène acting as a reluctant chief to a motley crew of…

Greener Farm

Incredible, but true – two days without rain! I wanted to do a little non-rain dance…instead, I harrowed. I tilled a full field of green manure, prepping for my fall brassicas. Perhaps you know my obsession with green manure – cereals and legumes that I grow for no other purpose than field fertilisation. Last night,…

An Ounce of Prevention…

Last night, we had to shift gears, moving into prevention mode. As I was inspecting our corn patch, to check on the plants’ progress and assess the silent presence of the nefarious corn borer, I noted some damaged stalks scattered throughout the patch, lying on the ground, felled at the base, unfinished cobs still intact.…

Blueberry Blues

Lamenting the fact that it rained again this week would serve no purpose, so I won’t add anything stating the obvious. Instead, let me tell you about our decision to (finally) install protective netting in our blueberry patch. Some of you may recall plaintive emails of seasons past recounting forced sharing of our blueberry crop…

Quand ça sent l’automne

Le petit air bien frisquet du matin, même si tempéré par nos belles journées ensoleillées de fin d’août, nous propulse clairement dans un état d’esprit automnal.  Tout dans les champs commence à perdre son lustre, sauf peut-être la verge d’or, dernier bastion des abeilles qui font leurs dernières emplettes de pollen, avant la disette annoncée. …

Petites annonces

C’est à ce moment-ci de la saison que nous affichons cet article purement informatif, bassement commercial mais nécessaire pour survivre aux rigueurs de l’hiver.  Nous avons planté l’ail, nous l’avons récolté, nettoyé, calibré et maintenant il faut le vendre.  Alors, si vous êtes des adeptes d’un ail frais, encore juteux, odorant et qui va se conserver…

Point d’inflexion

Début août, c’est le point d’inflexion à la ferme.  Nous avons commencé à libérer certaines parcelles, celles qui ont donné les légumes de ce printemps, les premières feuilles, les brassicacées et autres ombellifères.  Certaines, délaissées depuis quelques semaines se sont couvertes d’herbes folles, sous l’œil désapprobateur et impuissant du fermier.  Il a fallu donc parer…

Ail et autres

Vous devinerez bien que l’écriture tardive de ce billet est due à une fin de semaine très chargée et à un début de semaine sur les bâtons de roues.  Tout d’abord, nous avons récolté samedi et dimanche le cru 2017 de notre ail national, un millésime si je peux me permettre, comme nous n’en avons…

Cueillette

Ils sont venus, ils ont cueilli, ils sont partis. Les cassissois (cassisoises, surtout), on va les appeler ainsi.  Deux ans déjà, presque une vingtaine cette fois ci, ils sont arrivés déterminés, sourires aux lèvres et contenants dans les mains, prêts à la razzia.  Sous l’égide d’Hélène, un genre de chef de groupe malgré elle, ces…

Toujours plus vert

Je n’y croyais pas, deux journées sans une goutte de pluie!  J’aurais dansé presque si cela ne contrevenait pas à l’adage populaire.  J’ai plutôt hersé, un champ complet d’engrais verts, en préparation aux brassicacées d’automne.  Vous connaissez ma fixation  sur les engrais verts, ces céréales et légumineuses que je fais pousser comme ça, juste pour…

Mieux vaut prévenir…

Hier soir, il a fallu se mettre en mode préventif.  Alors que j’auscultais la parcelle de maïs pour vérifier l’état des plantes et la présence de la discrète mais néanmoins envahissante pyrale du maïs, je notais quelques dégâts, des plants au sol, coupés au premier pied, l’épi encore intact car non formé.  Clairement, la preuve…

Le blues du bleuet

Ressasser qu’il a encore plu cette semaine ne mènerait nulle part.  Il faut passer à autre chose et nous avons décidé à la ferme que c’était le bon moment de débuter l’installation de notre nouveau système anti-oiseaux sur les bleuets.  Certains se rappelleront des courriels pathétiques du fermier sur l’obligation de partage que nous imposait…