Constant Gardener

To expect a vegetable farmer to tend to his/her flower gardens is like asking a shoemaker to repair his own shoes: both belong to the realm of wishful thinking. Indeed, following years of criminal neglect, tree-sized weeds and plants gone rogue, we have come to accept that our gardening abilities fall far short of those…

Midnight Express

We were expecting them at noon, they arrived at midnight, an F250 pulling a trailer loaded with 200 feet of greenhouse metal tubing in the dark of the night…They thought loading the trailer would be easy, but it proved to be major feat, considering greenhouse geometry, all horizontal arabesques and transversal bars piled to infinity.…

No Man’s Land

It’s a corner of the farm we refer to as “no man’s land,” our own “dumping ground between fiefdoms,” tucked away between the woods’ edge and the irrigation pond we’ve dug deeper and wider over the past few years. A natural landfill which nature is constantly reclaiming, where we (and the generations of farmers who…

Corn Theft

We finally caught him. For several days, he had been teasing us, eating the first well-formed ears, nibbling at others as he ambled down the rows — early indications of ravages still to come. We didn’t know what to expect — a racoon, perhaps, or maybe a skunk? Finally, our nemesis let himself be tempted…

On Manure

This week’s topic is anything but bucolic, yet noteworthy nonetheless. In short, we spread manure last weekend: heavy (nay, stinky), but necessary, work to guarantee quality organic produce throughout the season. The manure is delivered by the 10-wheeler, 15-tonne truckload, deposited in an odorous dark brown swath along the field’s edge. To the uninitiated nostril,…

Heat(s) and Races

The timing of this post is an indication of the kind of weekend we’ve had. Another crazy race, this time against the heat. Which means installing sprinkler systems to water new transplants and rolling out drip irrigation lines where they had yet to be set out. You must be thinking, as you read this — following…

New Wheels

Nothing better to lift sagging spirits in soggy fields than a high tech happening at the farm, i.e. the arrival of a gleaming new tractor, a Case 95 HP… While I am not particularly mechanically inclined (or perhaps because I am not so), I finally gave in to the lure of a new tractor. Several…

Farm Stress

We had to do it. And do it fast. You see, the rain was coming. And so, Friday and Saturday, we weeded EVERYTHING: the herbs, the baby broccoli, the kohlrabi, the beans…the list went on and on. We also planted EVERYTHING — more broccoli, more kohlrabi, and a few other things left on our greenhouse…

Constance du jardinier

Demander à un producteur maraîcher de s’occuper de son jardin de fleurs, c’est un peu comme demander à un cordonnier de réparer ses propres chaussures.  Désolé mais cela ne se fera pas.  Après des années de négligence criminelle, d’herbes hautes comme des arbres, de plantes qui se divisent toutes seules, nous avons abdiqué devant le…

Étang un jour, étang toujours

Vous connaissez l’expression : «chassez le naturel, il revient au galop».  C’est ainsi qu’il faut résumer une situation aberrante à laquelle nous faisons face chaque année dans un  de nos champs.  Avec les printemps (et étés) pluvieux que nous avons, une des baissières dans notre grand champ de foin se trouve souvent dans l’incapacité d’évacuer ses…

L’Express de minuit

On les attendait à midi, ils sont arrivés à 23h, de Victoriaville! Une remorque tirée par un gros F250, 200 pieds de serres bien sonnantes dans le noir de la nuit.  Ils pensaient pouvoir remplir la remorque en quatre temps mais c’était sous-estimer la géométrie euclidienne d’une serre, les arabesques des arches, l’infini des barres…

No Man’s Land

C’est un endroit que nous nous plaisons à décrire et à re-décrire, un no man’s land situé dans le coin le plus reculé de nos champs maraichers, accoté à l’étang d’irrigation que nous avons agrandi ces dernières années.  On dit no man’s land parce que personne ni s’y aventure, la parcelle étant laissée à elle-même…

Vol d’épi

On l’a attrapé finalement.  Cela faisait quelques jours qu’il nous narguait, se régalant des premiers épis bien formés, égratignant tout sur son passage, laissant présager une hécatombe dans le champ de maïs. On ne savait pas vraiment à quoi s’attendre, un raton laveur, peut-être une mouffette.  Finalement, le pire des deux s’est laissé tenter par…

Parlons fumier

Le sujet n’est pas des plus bucoliques mais il faut en parler.  On a épandu du fumier cette fin de semaine, une ‘job de bras’ comme on dit ici mais absolument nécessaire si on veut avoir quelques beaux légumes durant la saison.  Il est arrivé par camions de 10 roues, 15 tonnes à la fois,…

Course effrénée

L’heure de tombée de cet article est une indication du genre de weekend que l’on a eu.  Une autre course effrénée, cette fois ci pour contrer les effets de la chaleur.  Cela veut dire déployer des systèmes d’aspersion sur les nouveaux transplants et dérouler du goutte à goutte là où on ne l’avait pas encore fait. …

CASE 95 hp

Rien de mieux pour égayer une autre semaine pluvieuse que l’arrivée de la haute technologie à la ferme, cette fois sous la forme d’un rutilant tracteur Case de 95 hp.  Certains diront qu’on ne me connaissait pas une fibre mécanique et ils auront tout à fait raison.  Mais après avoir vécu les dernières saisons à…

Stress agricole

Il a fallu faire vite.  Car la pluie s’en venait.  Vendredi, samedi, désherber tout, les fines herbes, les jeunes brocolis, le chou-rave, les haricots, les carottes et j’en passe.  Planter aussi tout ce qui trainait sur nos tables depuis une semaine, encore les brocolis, le chou-rave, car une bonne pluie, quand elle arrive à point,…