Roof Story

We’ve been finding it difficult to turn down requests for reservations at Hayloft Adventures, worried as we were that it might rain during someone’s farm, or more specifically, barn, stay. The barn whereof I speak is our very own, beautiful red barn, renovated three years ago but in need of a new roof. While a…

Sun and Sunflowers

We rarely see sunflower fields in these here parts, but the one I saw stretched on forever, a glorious sea of sun-drenched and windblown bobbing heads. Indeed, such a rare occurrence warrants a roadside halt, a determined effort to pause and absorb the visual and sensational overload. In fact, I stopped more than once –…

Ode to Okra

The plant is sturdy, its flowers are beautiful “and yet, and yet,” as Aznavour would say, its fruit repugns: I speak of okra, a vegetable of discord if ever there were one. I feel compelled to try to set the record straight, as this little-known but much maligned vegetable – in North America, Cajun Louisiana excepted…

Abundance

Summer is in full swing at the farm, amidst alternating sunshine and rainfalls, just enough of the latter to tide the plants over to the next one. Last Friday I woke determined to do something both pleasant and useful – which explains why I spent the day harvesting garlic. Those of you who have been…

War and Peace

There’s no dearth of topics to write about this week, more so now that the transition towards summer is complete. How do we know, you may ask? Well, being able to harvest all our nightshades in one fell swoop is a first telltale sign. A second one is our impending corn harvest, courtesy of the…

Niño and Niña

The rainy weekend appeased the (good) spirits of the farm. Grey skies, cool weather and steady rain left the fields well-soaked. While those who toil in office towers cursed and appealed to the absent sun, we found the relief from sun-drenched cloudless blue skies refreshing, both literally and figuratively speaking, as we toured our fields…

Vegetable Vibe

Time to get down and talk zucchini…as we head into the harvest of that singular vegetable, known for both its prolificity  and, according to some zucchini naysayers, insipidity. Don’t get me wrong: I love zucchini, the very foundation of Mediterranean, dare I say global, cuisine. The plant is vigorous, stocky, even, with broad-leaved stems reaching…

Summertime

It’s old news already, but this week was another hot one. We’re getting used to it. The strawberries seem to appreciate the heat, and even some of the brassicas are loving it, particularly the broccoli which we had to harvest hastily, given the searing temperatures over the long weekend. Broccoli is an under-appreciated vegetable if…

35 Degrees Celsius

At 33 degrees Celsius in our fields and 37 degrees Celsius in our greenhouses, this heat wave is sparing no one, particularly on the vegetable front. If it’s a harbinger what’s still to come, we’ll have to steel ourselves and revise our seasonal litany of prayers. I may move to incantations, or consider reciting a poem or two – something along…

Histoire de toit

On n’en pouvait plus d’annuler certaines réservations pour Aventure sur paille sous prétexte qu’il allait pleuvoir durant le séjour des intéressés.  Je parle de notre belle grange rouge, rénovée il y a trois ans de cela mais à qui il fallait un nouveau toit.  Une petite ondée ne nous stressait pas trop mais quand on…

De tournesols et soleil

Ce n’est pas tous les jours que l’on voit des champs de tournesol chez nos fermiers voisins. Celui que j’ai aperçu au détour d’un chemin s’étendait à perte de vue, une marée de têtes pensantes, auréolées de gloire, se dandinant au gré des vents. Non, ils sont rares ces champs et quel effet sur le…

Ode à l’okra

Le plant est bien portant, la fleur sublime et pourtant, et pourtant, comme disait Aznavour, le fruit répugne.  Je parle de l’okra bien sûr, le légume de toutes les discordes.  J’en parle parce qu’il faut bien, par la parole et par l’acte, redorer le blason d’un aliment tout à fait populaire dans bien des cuisines…

Abondance

L’été poursuit son bonhomme de chemin à la ferme.  Chaleur et petite pluie, juste assez en tout cas pour permettre aux plants d’attendre la prochaine ondée.  Je me suis levé vendredi dernier avec la ferme intention d’allier l’utile à l’agréable et c’est l’ail qui a écopé.  Ceux qui reçoivent ces missives depuis des années savent…

Guerre et paix

Ce ne sont pas les sujets qui manquent cette semaine. Probablement parce que la transition vers le cœur de l’été est maintenant complétée.  Comment le savons-nous? Parce que nous sommes capables de récolter toutes les solanacées en même temps et que dans quelques jours, ce sera le tour du maïs, gracieuseté d’une température des plus…

Niño et Niña

La fin de semaine pluvieuse a réconforté les (bons) esprits de la ferme.  Temps maussade, frisquet par moment et tout le crachin possible pour lentement mouiller les profondeurs du sol.  Ce n’est peut-être pas l’avis de celui qui passe sa semaine dans un bureau et qui exigerait des weekends resplendissants.  Mais pour nous qui en…

Parlons légumes

On va jaser courgette cette semaine, histoire d’initier ce qui sera une déferlante d’un légume synonyme à la fois d’abondance et certaines mauvaises langues diront de… vacuité.  Ne vous méprenez pas, j’aime la courgette, élément essentiel de la cuisine méditerranéenne voire presque planétaire.  Le plant est bien portant, trapu, bras implorant les cieux.  Les fleurs…

Été

Ce n’est plus vraiment une nouvelle mais il a encore fait chaud, cette semaine.  On s’habitue.  Les fraises semblent bien aimer ça et certaines brassicacées aussi, le brocoli surtout qu’il a fallu sortir très vite aujourd’hui considérant les températures des derniers jours. Le brocoli, mal aimé des légumes, il parait, mais si vous saviez toute…

35° Celsius

33°C au champ et 37°C dans les serres, cette canicule ne laisse personne indifférent, ni les légumes d’ailleurs.  Si l’été s’annonce aussi catégorique que cela, il va falloir un ajustement d’ordre psychologique et une révision complète des prières d’antan.  Je suis même prêt à pousser la chansonnette voire un petit poème, celui de Théophile Gautier…