Red, White and Blue – Barns, Snow and Skies

Everything has been stored away – tractors, farm implements, geotextile tarps. What really needs protecting from winter’s rigours has found a spot in a barn or a greenhouse. Otherwise, it will have to weather winter, as we do not yet have enough space for all the farm equipment we have accumulated over the years. While I won’t wax poetic on the whys and wherefores, here you have it: the farmer is a hoarder of metal and wood, nets and screws.  By default, by inclination, by prevention – because one never knows…even though what one never knows rarely happens. In any event, a tool and tractor shed is on the drawing board for 2017…

Tracteurs remisés - Tractor storage

With no time to walk the woods during summer months, this farmer eagerly awaits the first real snowfall to hike the nearby Sutton mountain range. Back from a picture-worthy trek – I’ve included a couple as teasers – I can assure you that it’s an immensely rewarding hike, provided one is in moderately good shape and seized by a spirit of adventure. And while the leafless trees at the mountain’s base seem spindly and without much interest, as one climbs, they are quickly replaced by magnificent, snow-laden conifers, trees that a single occurrence of freezing rain alternately lays bare or crystallizes in a frigid landscape. It is in this eerily beautiful but frozen state that we found the forest yesterday, under icy cover, along crushed-snow trails marked by the footprints of fellow hikers, a fairy tale vision dispelling the brutal cold. We’re looking forward to more hikes to come: winter has only just begun.

Mes beaux sapins

Arlington Gardens wishes you a wonderful winter season and health, wealth and happiness in 2017. We look forward to seeing you in the spring.

Snowfall

There’s nothing quite like an inch of freshly fallen snow to signal to this vegetable farmer that the time has come to end the grand ball of 2016. A harbinger of a possibly colder, snowier winter than recent ones, it was a mere dusting, really, but one that fell/felt like a cold shower, as we still have a few unfinished field chores – including, notably, garlic planting, which needs to be completed before the cold weather settles in for good. This year, in response to popular demand, we will be planting 15,000 garlic cloves. And so it is that another season draws to a close, filled to the brim as usual with its lot  of memorable, and not-so-memorable, moments. If we had to pick a single word to describe 2016, however, it would have to be hot, declined in a multiplicity of forms – as in drought, dry well and low pond – but transposed (thank goodness) into a symphony of flavours and tastes. The theory is hardly scientific, but I am possessed of an iron conviction that vegetables only reach their fullest potential when confronted by a trinity of earth, water and (lots of) sun – and on this last front, we were very well served this year. We thank you for your support this season, for your kind words of encouragement and your constructive criticism….Meanwhile, we wish you the best of québécois winters and look forward to seeing you again in 2017.

Fenêtre embuée - Foggy Window

In this week’s basket, our ‘touski’ special – québécois for tout ce qui reste, i.e. farm produce for a hearty mulligan stew – or whatever else tickles your fancy. As indicated last week, we’ll be topping the basket up with extra vegetables to make up for the shortfall of our first basket of the season. Please note that we’ll be sending out a survey next week to garner your views on what we do well and … less well. We’d appreciate your taking the necessary time to fill it out, it will help us improve our offer going forward. We look forward to seeing you all again.

End-of-Season Logistics

Ménage - Clean-UpThis week’s post is strictly informational, to let you know how we plan to end basket deliveries as we head towards late October and the season’s end. As per the original 2016 schedule, we have two weeks of ‘official’ deliveries left – i.e. this week and the next. As you may recall, however, given a smaller-than-usual first basket at the start of the season (the week of June 13, re-christened « Week 0 »), we had offered to extend the season by an additional week to Wednesday and Thursday, November 2nd and 3rd.  On second thought – after some hemming and hawing and a lot of coffee – we think it best, for you and for us, that we end the season on October 30th, as originally planned, offering up a larger-than-usual last basket to all. Following on this week’s next-to-last basket, then, and in keeping with the nominal value of both the small and large baskets, we plan to top up next week’s final basket. Conveniently, as ‘tis the root vegetable season, extra vegetables should be easy for you to store in your fridges…For those of you looking to make up vacation baskets, that leaves this week and the next to do so. We hope this will be to everyone’s satisfaction.

That said, we continue to harvest the season’s last vegetables. The fields are gradually emptying, except for the fall stragglers like Jerusalem artichokes, hankering for the next frost, and cauliflowers on the verge of giving up – neither they nor we are sure they’ll manage to ripen in time. I am always surprised by the resilience of some plants at this time of year, even after the first hard frosts (we’ve had a few in the past week). Our field cover crops are still thriving (the peas love the cold), and even the wild mustard in the alleys between the beds is still going strong.

Dusk

The nights have been crisp – actually, downright frigid – these past few days, and to this farmer, at least, the end is apparent. There is something in the cool October air that announces a season’s dusk. Maybe it’s the pale green of the field beans, or the light brown of the dying galinsoga – but the penetrating chill definitely dulls the hitherto vibrant colours of a farm landscape. It’s sad and refreshing at once – and no matter the still intense mid-day warmth, the plants know – the waning light does not lie. Like old elephants who quietly lie down to die in a tropical dell, nothing in our fields will remain unaltered by a few nights under zero. Interestingly, it is the cold weather that enables root vegetables to come into their own. And so we exercise patience again as we wait for Nature to operate yet another transformation, knowing that our taste buds will enjoy the result.

Tomates d'automne - Fall Tomates

In this week’s basket, in addition to your now seasonal root vegetables, you will find a few tomatoes – hangers on, all. Some leafy greens, too, because greens are good for you. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Feuilles dans l'herbe - Leaves in the Grass

Into the Final Stretch

Already October, so it’s into the final stretch. Weather conditions are definitely not as expected this time of year – Wednesday’s forecast is for 23 degrees Celsius under sunny skies – but the telltale signs of a waning growing season are nevertheless evident. For starters, harvesting at 6 in the morning (the usual start time at the peak of summer) is no longer possible, given the likelihood of our picking the wrong vegetables in the morning darkness. This week, we’re harvesting the last of our beets and carrots, as well as our root celery and several of our fall radishes. By mid-October, we’ll be harvesting our Jerusalem artichokes and our rutabagas (also known as swedes). We’re lucky, though, as there doesn’t seem to be any imminent threat of rain. And that’s very good news for this farmer – I had been putting off sowing our green manure cover crops in fields that have been progressively emptied of their vegetable crops.  One pass with the disk harrow by Wednesday, another pass with the tractor to sow my oats, and that will be one fall chore off my to-do list. Fall melancholy has yet to set in, so I’ll save my walks in the woods for later – although not too much later, as hunting season will be starting soon. Celeriac - Root Celery

In your baskets this week: we’re happy to be able to showcase our buttercup squash and some Savoy cabbage. The first is great for soups, the second for cabbage rolls. You’ll also find leeks, onions and radishes in addition to other fall fare. See you soon.

Boreal Bell

The bell tolled this weekend for some of our solanaceas. Two nights at zero degrees was all it took to fell our eggplants, peppers and nearly all our unprotected tomatoes. The same goes for our beans and summer squash. Our covered solanaceas – the lucky ones protected by our tunnels and in our unheated field greenhouse – have so far survived, but their days are numbered, particularly if the near-zero night temperature trend persists. As a result, we’ve harvested all the paste tomatoes we could, and the last of our eggplants and peppers, stragglers all.

Derniers foins - Last HayingIt’s our end-of-season routine, following fast on the last haying of the season : pulling up plastic cover, harrowing large swaths of field  – a fall prelude to the final sowing of our green manure cover crops before the really cold weather settles in. Reading this, you’d think winter is just around the corner, but that’s not really the case…yet. It’s just that October can be blustery and rain-filled – making it near impossible to schedule field work with heavier machinery in sodden fields –  a miserable month, really, ruled by Boreas, who taunts us with the occasional sun-filled day even as he goes about his business of heralding winter.

Dieu grec du vent du nord, Boreas, Greek God of the North WindAnd so it is that our baskets have taken a decidedly autumnal turn. While a few tomatoes will still add colour, you’ll witness the return of the beet and the potato, accompanied by leeks (this year has been a great leek year) and this week’s winter squash special : the classic butternut squash. Don’t forget to register with Capitaine Levain if you want to continue with, or try, his sour dough breads for the rest of the season. And last, but not least, note that our friend and foodie blogger, Anaïs Berzi, a long-standing farm member, will be featured on Josée di Stasio’s cooking show on Télé-Québec this coming Friday, September 30th, at 8 pm.

We look forward to seeing you all at your respective drop-off locations.

Squash World

Courge Delicata SquashIf we had to wait for the first frost this year before harvesting our winter squash, chances are the wait would have been a long one. During one brief staff meeting it was decided that we would not test our patience given the multitude of other farm chores that await us in coming weeks. It so happens that as a result, we harvested a seemingly infinite number of butternut, acorn, buttercup, delicata and other squashes in record time. Said squashes had been planted in former hayfield purposely ploughed under at the beginning of the season for our late cucurbits and brassicas. Planting in an old hayfield is the vegetable equivalent of doping in élite sports, the ultimate in performance enhancement – permitting us to harvest ripe squash on still vigorous – green, even – plants (nitrogen, anyone?). After the last couple of weeks of spaghetti squash, then, allow us now to introduce you to the delicata, my personal favourite : easy to prepare (you can leave the skin on), sweet but not excessively so, with a texture reminiscent of that of the potato.Courge musquée au soleil - Sunlit Butternut

For those of you not able to pick up your orders last week, please note that your garlic and your tomatoes are ready. Remember to ask for them, and don’t forgot to bring your cash…We look forward to seeing you all again.

Let Them Eat Lettuce

Fin de journée - End of DayThe farmer’s dilemma at Arlington Gardens this week : with how many varieties of lettuce can we ply our customers over a given time period? An existential question which returns to haunt us every season. Our field plan calls for staggered harvest dates for successive varieties of lettuce, but — surprise, surprise – 3 varieties with different maturity dates have all come due at the same time. What’s a farmer to do? Weigh his customers down in lettuce, or feed the local deer? The conundrum is frequent in the greens department, particularly in the lettuce section – where, as if through some quirky telepathy, the plants seem to sync up their growth patterns, in blatant disregard of seed catalogue prognostications…Not to worry, however, as finite quantities of harvest bins will be a natural constraint on what is currently seeming like an infinite supply of salad leaves. That said, you should expect more than one lettuce in your basket this week.
Dans le sac - In The Bag
Bâtiments au soleil couchant - Farm Buildings at SunsetFollowing on tomato orders (which we are still fulfilling), this week marks the beginning of garlic deliveries. As per our previous e-mails, note that the garlic we will be delivering has been cured specifically for storage over the winter and into the spring, provided you take care to keep it in a cool and dry place, preferably in its original paper bag, in relative darkness. Leaving it in the recesses of a pantry is recommended…En passant, note that we still have Italian tomatoes available for freezing | canning – there’s still time to stock up for the winter. We look forward to seeing you all again shortly.

As Summer Lingers…

It’s hard to believe, but we’re already at week 12 of the season! The month of September signals yet another transition, this time towards fall vegetables – beginning with the spaghetti squash you’ll find in your baskets this week. Exceptionally, we feel like we are harvesting them against their will – a reluctance to be harvested made all the more evident by their refusal to turn yellow, a natural colour change typically triggered by the combination of cooler, and wetter, weather. This year we’re on Cloud Nine – with abundant sunshine, and nary a raindrop in sight for the foreseeable future. The dearth of seasonal triggers means the plants – all of them – continue in a state of ignorant bliss, as summer lingers and fall falters, totally unprepared for the winter none of us can avoid.

Verge d'or - Goldenrod

Tomato Tale

Following on last year’s epic fail, tomato-wise, I had promised some of you that 2016 would be ‘The Year of the Tomato’ at the farm. Indeed, after a disastrous season for Solanum Lycopersicum last summer, I resolved to take all necessary measures, and then some, to guarantee this year’s production, in terms of both quantity and quality. For those of you not with us last year, words fail to convey the overwhelming sadness felt by this farmer and his seasonal partners in late July when faced with row upon row of tomato plants decimated by a deathly combination of mildew, grey rot, bacterial canker, alternaria (black spot) disease — I spare you not — largely attributable to what was, without a doubt, the wettest of wet summers. I would not wish such a fate on any vegetable. So this year, ‘all necessary measures’ include ‘protective’ measures, as three quarters of our field tomatoes have been under cover in a summer greenhouse and high tunnels. Given the climatic vagaries of our increasingly crazy summers, we now have no choice but to cover our tomatoes to protect them from excess humidity. In this regard, this year’s hottest of hot summers has served us well, as even our uncovered tomatoes have fared exceptionally well. We produce many tomato varieties, but my personal favourites are our heirloom varieties, super-sized and surprising specimens from a wild and wonderful vegetable bestiary. Their misshapenness is redeemed by their exquisite taste and tender flesh, and the realization that the pleasure they provide is ephemeral…

Histoire de tomate - Tomato Tale

Meanwhile, in your baskets this week, a foretaste of fall: the leek. My kingdom for a leek.  I searched the internet to see if anyone noteworthy had ever uttered such a thought, but it seems not.

Poireaux 2016 Leeks

Bleu, blanc, rouge – Ciel, comme neige, grange

On a tout rangé, les tracteurs, les outils de travail, les toiles géotextiles.  Ceux qu’il fallait vraiment protéger des rigueurs de l’hiver, on les a entreposé dans les granges et les serres.  Le reste, ils se débrouilleront tout seuls, la ferme n’ayant pas assez de bâtiments fermés pour toute la machinerie que l’on a empilé au fil des ans.  Je ne ferai pas d’envolée sur le pourquoi du comment mais le constat doit être fait, l’agriculteur, plus que quiconque, est un thésaurisateur, une machine à accumuler ferraille et bois, filets et écrous.  C’est plus fort que lui car ‘on ne sait jamais’, un jamais qui selon mon expérience n’arrive presque jamais.  Mais il faudra bien que je construise un abri pour cette machinerie délaissée, un projet pour 2017 très probablement…

Tracteurs remisés - Tractor storageÀ défaut de pouvoir profiter des boisés avoisinants durant la saison estivale, faute de temps bien sûr, ce fermier attend impatiemment les premières véritables chutes de neige pour escalader les superbes pentes des Monts Sutton.  C’est donc chose faite, photos à l’appui et je peux vous assurer que pour quiconque moyennement en forme et n’ayant pas froid aux yeux, l’exercice en vaut la chandelle.  Si aux premiers abords, les feuillus ne payent de mine, chétifs mais longs qu’ils sont, le paysage se transforme très vite pour laisser place à des conifères d’une autre époque, chargés de neige que seul le poids d’une pluie verglaçante arrive à déloger. C’est dans cet état que nous avons retrouvé la forêt hier, arbres emprisonnés dans une couverture de glace, sentiers défoncés par la démarche appuyée des randonneurs de passage, vision féérique sublimant le froid perçant.  Que de plaisir à venir en tout cas, l’hiver est bel et bien installé.

Mes beaux sapins

Les Jardins d’Arlington vous souhaitent un bel hiver ainsi que santé et prospérité pour 2017.  Au plaisir de vous retrouver au printemps.

Il a neigé

Rien de tel qu’un petit pouce de neige sur l’herbe molle pour indiquer à ce maraîcher qu’il est temps de mettre fin à ce grand ballet qu’a été la saison 2016.  Annonciatrice de l’hiver que nous risquons d’avoir, neigeux, froid, cette petite couche de blanc nous est tombée comme une douche froide, pas tout à fait la bienvenue car il restait encore deux ou trois petites choses à faire dans les champs, la plus importante étant l’ail que nous devons planter avant la véritable arrivée des grands froids.  Cette année, la demande étant ce qu’elle est, c’est 15000 caïeux que nous allons mettre sous terre.  La saison 2016 arrive donc à sa fin et elle a charrié, comme bien d’autre crus, son lot de moments forts et de belles surprises.  Mais si on avait à choisir un mot pour la décrire, ce serait chaleur, que l’on pourrait aussi traduire par sécheresse, puits sec, étang bas mais aussi symphonie de saveurs et de goûts.  Mon argument n’a rien de scientifique mais je crois dur comme fer que bien des légumes ne déploient leur potentiel gustatif que lorsqu’une certaine trinité est au rendez-vous, le sol, l’eau et la chaleur, beaucoup de chaleur – et sur ce plan, nous avons été bien servis.  Un dernier mot donc pour vous remercier grandement de votre soutien durant cette saison, pour vos bons mots, vos encouragements, vos conseils.  On espère vous retrouver nombreux la saison prochaine et en attendant, nous vous souhaitons de passer un bel hiver bien québécois.

Fenêtre embuée - Foggy Window

Dans le panier cette semaine, un spécial ‘touski’, tout ce qui reste dans les champs et les tunnels.  Tel qu’indiqué la semaine dernière, on ajoutera aussi en quantité l’équivalent des quelques légumes qui ont manqué dans le premier panier de la saison.  Je vous informe aussi qu’un sondage vous sera envoyé la semaine prochaine afin de récolter vos commentaires et avis sur ce que nous faisons de bien et de… moins bien.  Prenez le temps de le remplir, il nous aidera à mieux faire les choses pour les saisons à venir.  Au plaisir de vous retrouver tous.

Logistique de fin de saison

Ménage - Clean-UpCette note sera purement informative, afin d’indiquer comment nous finirons la livraison des paniers en ces derniers jours d’octobre.  Il reste officiellement deux semaines de paniers pour compléter la saison 2016, cette semaine et la prochaine.  Nous avions aussi proposé, pour compenser les quelques légumes manquants dans le premier panier de la saison (semaine du 13 juin), d’ajouter une semaine de livraison, les mercredi 2 novembre et jeudi 3 novembre.  Mais en fait, après sérieuse cogitation et moult cafés, nous pensons qu’il serait mieux, et pour vous et pour nous, que nous terminions la saison le 30 octobre, en s’assurant que nous fassions de ce dernier panier un ‘méga panier’.  Pour respecter la valeur nominative des petits et grands paniers, nous allons augmenter les quantités des légumes offerts d’autant plus qu’à ce stade-ci de la saison, ce sont les légumes racines qui tiennent le haut du pavé, faciles à ranger dans vos bacs de frigo et à oublier…  Pour les abonnés qui ont des paniers vacances à récupérer, nous vous les livrerons aussi.  J’espère que cette solution sera à la satisfaction de tous.

Ceci dit, nous avons poursuivi la récolte des derniers légumes dans les champs et il ne reste plus grand-chose si ce n’est quelques topinambours en mal de gel prolongé et des choux fleurs hésitants à poursuivre leur croissance.  Je suis toujours impressionné par la résilience de certaines plantes dans les champs, malgré les deux nuits de gel que nous avons vécues ces derniers jours.  Mes engrais verts de pois sont encore très beaux et il en est de même pour la moutarde clairsemée dans certaines allées.

Crépuscule

Les nuits ont été fraîches ces derniers jours, pour ne pas dire carrément frigides, et ce fermier voit déjà venir la fin.  Il y a quelque chose dans un air frisquet d’octobre qui annonce le crépuscule d’une saison.  Je ne sais si c’est le vert pâlot de mon champ de fèveroles ou le léger brunissement du galinsoga agonisant mais la froidure ambiante semble altérer le chatoyant des plants qui m’entourent.  C’est triste et rafraîchissant à la fois et n’importe l’ardeur de nos jours ensoleillés, le mal est déjà fait, la plante se rendant à l’évidence d’une luminosité décroissante.  Un peu comme ces vieux éléphants qui vont s’éteindre quelque recoin d’une forêt tropicale, rien dans nos champs ne sortira indemne par quelques nuits en dessous de zéro.  Curieusement, ce ne sont que les légumes racines qui vont trouver chaussure à leur pied et se bonifier au contact du froid.  Et c’est bien pour cela que la patience est de mise car sans cette transformation du temps, ce sont nos papilles qui s’en trouveraient déçues.

Tomates d'automne - Fall Tomates

Cette semaine, dans vos paniers, des racines bien sûr mais encore quelques tomates, histoire de dire qu’on veut y croire encore, mais juste du bout des lèvres.  Des feuilles aussi, parce que de la fibre pour la digestion, c’est bon.  Au plaisir de vous retrouver tous.

Feuilles dans l'herbe - Leaves in the Grass

Dernier droit

Avec octobre, nous entamons le dernier droit.  Peut-être pas dans les conditions climatiques auxquelles nous sommes habituées (on annonce 23 degrés Celsius mercredi et jeudi!) mais certains signes ne trompent pas.  D’abord, nous ne récoltons plus à 6h du matin comme dans le plus profond de l’été car les chances de se tromper de légumes augmenteraient sensiblement.  Et puis, même s’il reste encore quelques tomates sur les plants, nous passons notre temps à récolter des racines plutôt qu’autre chose.  Cette semaine, nous avons réglé le cas des dernières betteraves et carottes mais aussi du céleri-rave et certains radis.  Suivront d’ici la mi-octobre, le topinambour et le rutabaga.  Chanceux que nous sommes, on ne prévoit pas de pluie avant la fin de la semaine.  Cela voudra dire que le retardataire que je suis va pouvoir se rattraper et ensemencer en engrais verts quelques parcelles qui commençaient à perdre patience.  Un coup de herse d’ici mercredi, une envolée d’avoine avant la fin de semaine et le tour sera joué.  Comme je ne me sens pas encore l’âme mélancolique, je remets à plus tard mes marches dans les boisés avoisinants.  Il ne faudra pas que cela traine car avec l’arrivée de la saison de la chasse, je risque d’y trouver quelques surprises…Celeriac - Root Celery

Dans les paniers, il ne reste plus vraiment de relents estivaux.  Je suis heureux par contre de vous présenter la courge buttercup et le chou de Savoie.  Avec le premier, je vous invite à concocter la plus délicieuse des soupes impliquant une courge et avec le deuxième légume, ce sera le temps de sortir les cigares.  Il y aura aussi du poireau, des oignons et des radis.  Sur ce, au plaisir de vous retrouver tous.

Glas boréal

La fin de semaine a sonné le glas de certaines solanacées.  Deux nuits à des températures avoisinant le zéro ont mis à terre les aubergines, les poivrons et pratiquement toutes les tomates cultivées sans protection.  Idem pour les haricots et les courgettes.  Il reste encore les solanacées cultivées dans nos tunnels mais même celles-là risquent de dépérir si la température ne s’assagit pas durant les prochains jours.  On en a donc profité pour retirer des champs les tomates italiennes qui perduraient sur les plants, ainsi que quelques broutilles délaissées sur des fonds de rangs.

Derniers foins - Last HayingC’est notre routine à nous en ces fins de saison, le ramassage des paillis plastique là où on en a étalé et du hersage à satiété, prélude au nécessaire semis d’engrais verts avant l’arrivée des grands froids.  À m’écouter, on serait au pied de l’hiver mais là n’est pas vraiment mon propos.  Mon inquiétude serait plutôt l’impossibilité d’entrer dans les champs avec n’importe laquelle de nos machines car octobre est souvent un mois misérable de pluie et de vent, oscillant entre l’envie de nous faire plaisir par des échappées ensoleillées et l’obligation de se soumettre au diktat de Borée.

Dieu grec du vent du nord, Boreas, Greek God of the North WindLes paniers ont décidément pris une petite tournure automnale.  Il y aura de la tomate pour la couleur mais aussi le retour de la betterave et des pommes de terre.   J’y inclus aussi du poireau (un record pour nous) et la courge sera la bien aimée butternut ou courge musquée pour les intimes.  N’oubliez pas que Capitaine Levain attend vos inscriptions si vous voulez vos pains à partir de cette semaine. Et enfin, notre amie et blogueuse, Anaïs Berzi, abonnée aux paniers depuis plusieurs années, se paye le luxe d’un passage sur Télé-Québec, en compagnie de Josée di Stasio (vendredi 30 septembre à 20h).

Au plaisir de vous retrouver tous aux points de livraison.

Le merveilleux monde des courges

Courge Delicata SquashS’il fallait attendre les risques d’un premier gel pour sortir les courges des champs, on se serait roulé les pouces encore longtemps.  Durant un court conciliabule, nous avons décidé qu’il y avait limite à tester notre patience car bien d’autres tâches agricoles nous attendent au cours des prochaines semaines.  Nous avons donc mis les bouchées doubles pour récolter ce qui me semble une quantité infinie de courges musquées, poivrées, buttercup, delicata et j’en passe. Ces courges, nous les avions plantées sur un retour de prairie, c’est-à-dire un vieux champ de foin que nous avions détruit en début de saison pour laisser place aux cucurbitacées et autres brassicacées.  Planter dans un vieux champ de foin, c’est un peu comme laisser un cycliste se doper dans un Tour quelconque, ça donne des ailes – avec la conséquence que nous avons récolté les courges sur des plants encore verts (azote, azote, azote).  Après la spaghetti des paniers précédents, nous vous présentons la délicata, ma préférée car facile à apprêter (avec sa peau), sucrée sans excès et à la texture rappelant la pomme de terre.

Courge musquée au soleil - Sunlit ButternutJe rappelle à ceux qui n’ont pas pu se présenter la semaine dernière que votre ail est prêt ainsi que vos commandes de tomates.  Venez-nous voir pour les ramasser, avec de l’argent comptant si possible…  Au plaisir de vous retrouver tous.

Qu’ils mangent de la laitue

Fin de journée - End of Day

Gros dilemme au Jardins d’Arlington cette semaine : à combien de laitues pouvez-vous faire face durant un laps de temps donné?  La question est existentielle et chaque saison, elle revient nous tarauder.  Notre plan de production nous assure que telle ou telle laitue arrivera à telle ou telle date mais, ô surprise, trois variétés aux temps de croissance différents sont prêtes à la récolte pratiquement en même temps,   Que faire?  Vous noyer sous une montagne de verdure ou nourrir les chevreuils du coin?   La problématique se pose souvent avec les légumes feuilles, en particulier les laitues qui, dans un élan télépathique, se donnent le mot pour nous jouer ce genre de tours…   Ne vous en faites tout de même pas, ce sera le nombre limité de bacs de récolte qui va déterminer la quantité de laitues dans vos paniers mais attendez-vous à plus qu’une laitue dans vos paniers.
Dans le sac - In The Bag
Bâtiments au soleil couchant - Farm Buildings at SunsetAprès les tomates, nous entamons cette semaine la distribution de vos commandes d’ail.  Tel qu’indiqué dans les courriels précédents, c’est un ail de conservation, c’est-à-dire que dans les conditions appropriées, il va tenir l’hiver voire une partie du printemps.  Assurez-vous de l’entreposer dans un endroit sec et frais, dans son contenant en papier, à l’abri de la lumière si possible.  Vous pouvez même le laisser dans votre dépense et il se débrouillera très bien.  Il reste encore des tomates italiennes dans les champs si vous tenez à faire quelques conserves pour l’hiver.  Au plaisir de vous retrouver tous.

Un automne qui tarde

Difficile à croire mais nous entamons déjà notre 12ième semaine de livraison!  Et avec septembre re-débute une autre transition, vers des légumes plus représentatifs de l’automne qui s’en vient.  Nous avons donc récolté toutes nos courges spaghetti et c’est ce qui alourdira votre panier de la semaine.  Fait inusité, c’est de force que nous faisons sortir les courges des champs car les plants ne veulent aucunement jaunir comme ils le font habituellement quand août finit par être frais et un peu crachoteux. Cette année, vous l’avez noté, on vit sur un nuage, du soleil à profusion, des pluies en attente de prière.  Le message ne passe donc pas, les plants – tous les plants – vivent une amnésie saisonnière, un refus de faire face à la réalité d’un automne qui tarde et d’un hiver qui finira bien par nous assommer…

Verge d'or - Goldenrod

Histoire de tomate

Je l’avais promis à certains d’entre vous; ce serait l’année de la tomate.  Après la déconfiture de l’année dernière, une saison à oublier pour le Solanum lycopersicum, j’avais mis les bouchées doubles pour garantir la production de 2016, en quantité et en qualité.  Je rappelle pour ceux qui n’étaient pas des nôtres l’an dernier, la tristesse infinie que peuvent ressentir le fermier et son abonné, fin juillet, devant des champs complets atteints par le mildiou, la pourriture grise, le chancre bactérien, l’alternariose, et j’en passe, gratuité bien sûr d’un été hyper mouilleux.  Une panoplie d’afflictions que je ne souhaiterais à aucun autre légume.  Je dis bouchées doubles comme je pourrais aussi dire couvertures doubles, les trois-quarts de nos tomates protégées cette année par une grande serre et deux tunnels chenille.  Devant les aléas climatiques de nos étés fous, nous n’avons plus le choix que de les couvrir et minimiser ainsi leur contact avec tout ce qui ressemble à une goutte d’eau.  Il faut aussi avouer que les canicules de cette saison nous ont beaucoup aidé, avec le dernier quart qui s’est retrouvé en plein champ, faute d’espace dans les serres.  Nous produisons bien des variétés, mes préférées étant  les tomates du patrimoine, ces laiderons surdimensionnées, sortis tout droit de l’imaginaire d’un bestiaire végétal.  Mais leur difformité est rescapée par un goût exquis, une chair sensuelle et la conviction que ce plaisir est ce qu’il y a de plus éphémère.

Histoire de tomate - Tomato Tale

Dans vos paniers, cette semaine, un avant-goût de l’automne qui s’en vient, le poireau.  Mon royaume pour un poireau.  J’ai cherché partout sur Internet si quelqu’un avait exprimé une telle opinion mais je n’ai rien trouvé.

Poireaux 2016 Leeks